Meetup with like minded people

20130720-130158.jpg

A few years ago a friend suggested I look to meet up with like minded people. As daggy as this sounds, I like doing craft ~ you know making my own cards, knitting, cross stitch etc. Now if you’re thinking Drew Barrymore in Never Been Kissed !!!! Stop right there ~ that is NOT me.

So to Google I went with key words craft, group, Sydney …. and to my surprise there are quite a few groups in Sydney.

One that stood out for me AND was in my area was through Meetup … http://www.meetup.com. So I joined the group and today am a proud Crafty Wench.

Meetup was started in New York short after 9/11. The founder discovered that neighbours were talking to each other again and wanted to foster this level of connection. So Meetup was born. The concept is that anyone can start a Meetup group and anyone can join a Meetup. There are no fees to join and no commitments.

It’s a great way for those living the solo life to connect with like minded people.

Groups like movies, social change, dinners, food, craft, photography, philosophy etc. If you’re interested in it there’s most likely a Meetup up for you. Last night I ventured to the beachside suburb of Cronulla to see a movie called “Happy”. Some of us met for dinner first and then went to the Heart & Soul Yoga centre to watch the movie. A fairly inexpensive experience all up $30 to hang out with people interested in change, psychology and living an authentic life.

Today I’m joining some members of the Sydney Photography Meetup Group attending an introductory photography workshop.

Looking out the cafe window I’m happy to see that the rain has stopped, the sky is clear and now looking forward to taking some photos around Darling Harbour.

Have a beautiful sunny Saturday in Sydney everyone.

Leave a comment